Site menu:


 
Find
Birds
 
Report
Sightings
 
Shop
the
Bookstore
Join
Renew
Donate
Learn
About
Birds...

Bird Monitoring Kit Program

WSO and the Wisconsin Bird Conservation Initiative developed the Bird Monitoring Kit program to allow educators and students to study birds and their habitats. By learning about the local bird community and building bird identification skills, Bird Monitoring Kits help students gain a greater appreciation of the natural world and its conservation. Bird Monitoring Kits contain all of the tools necessary for starting a bird educational program, including high-quality optics and reference guides. WSO would like to give a special thanks to Eagle Optics for offering a generous discount on the optics.

birdkitEach kit contains the following items:

  • 15 pairs of Eagle Optics binoculars, 8.5 x 32
  • 1 spotting scope with tripod
  • 5 copies of the Kaufman Field Guide to Birds of North America
  • Bird Habitat Posters
  • 1 Birds of Wisconsin placemat
  • 1 CD of common birds found in Wisconsin
  • 1 Educator’s Guide
  • 1 copy of Wild About Wisconsin Birds by Adele Porter
  • 1 copy of Backyard Bird Book for Kids by Janet Mohr and Adeline Howard
  • 2 copies of Wisconsin Birds: a checklist with migration graphs

 

Since 2003, Bird Monitoring Kits have been placed with 40 host organizations throughout Wisconsin, including Audubon Society chapters, nature centers, bird clubs, natural history museums, schools, and 4-H Clubs. We have received much positive feedback from host organizations.

“Thanks so much for the opportunity to use and share the kits with both students and adults! Participants get “in the field” training with the binoculars. That has worked out great!”Martha Kronholm, volunteer kit host in Wood County

“Our 3 to 5 year olds are so excited about the birds in their neighborhood – they can’t wait to tell me! I believe that exposing urban children to bird watching can build great observation and communication skills. All our children know how to call a Barred Owl!”Niki Espy, kit host at the Neighborhood House, Milwaukee

Kits are available for purchase through the WSO Youth Education Committee. If you are interested to buy a Bird Monitoring Kit for your county or organization, contact Ed Hahn, WSO Youth Education Committee Chair (ehahnbirding@gmail.com). Bird Monitoring Kits are also available for loan by host organizations. To locate a kit nearest you, please see the contact information below.

 

Barron County
CESA #11
225 Ostermann Drive
Turtle Lake, WI 54889
Chasta Cimfl, Support Staff
715-986-2020 ext. 2172

Bayfield County
Cable Natural History Museum
P.O. Box 416 Cable, WI 54821-0416
Deb Malesevich, Director of Administration
715-798-3890
deb@cablemuseum.org

Brown County
Bay Area Bird Club
600 Sunset Circle
Green Bay, WI 54301
Don Van Duyse
920-336-3815
dvanduyse@hotmail.com

Brown County
Friends of the Bay Beach Wildlife Sanctuary
1660 E. Shore Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54302
Mike Reed
920-391-3675
mikere@greenbaywi.gov

Dane County
Madison Audubon Society
410 Walnut Grove Drive
Madison, WI 53717
Dee Wylie
608-833-2744
dwylie@chorus.net

Door County
The Ridges Sanctuary
PO Box 152
Bailey’s Harbor, WI 54202
Karen Newbern
920-839-2802
www.ridgessanctuary.org

Door County
Friends of Gibraltar: Fish Creek
3924 Highway 42
Fish Creek, WI 54212
Vinne Chomeau
920-868-3284 ext. 205

Dunn County
Red Cedar Trails/Hoffman Hills
Menomonie WI
Bill Hogseth
715-664-8002
billhogseth@gmail.com

Eau Claire
Clark Bird Museum
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
105 Garfield Ave
Eau Claire, WI 54702
Chris Chan-Welher
715-836-3403
chanwelh@uwec.edu

Florence County
Wild Rivers Interpretive Center
5628 Forestry Drive
Florence, WI 54121
Lori Moore, Director
Phone 715-528-5377 Ext. 101
lmoore@co.florence.wi.us

Fond du Lac County
Fond du Lac County Audubon Society
N6786 Hilltop Drive
Fond du Lac, WI 54935
Margie Winter
920-923-2490
jmwinter@charter.net

Forest County
Crandon Middle School
9750 US Highway 8 W
Crandon, WI 54520
Tracy Cassidy
715-478-6185
cassitra@crandon.k12.wi.us

Grant County
Friends of Platteville Arboretum
Robin Fatzinger
rfatzinger@platteville.k12.wi.us

Green County
Green-Rock Audubon Society
Monroe, WI 53566
Eunice Brennan

Langlade County
Raptor Education Group, Inc.
Antigo, WI 54409
Molly McKay, Environmental Education Director
715-623-2563
MollyM.REGI@gmail.com

Marinette County
Goodman Armstrong Creek School District
#1 Falcon Crest
Goodman, WI 54125
Richelle Jochem
rjochem@goodman.k12.wi.us

Menominee County
Menominee High School Biology Department
N522 Highway 47/55
Keshen, WI 54135
Daniel Starr
715-799-3846
Dstarr@misd.k12.wi.us

Milwaukee County
Milwaukee Audubon Society
2125 W. Brantwood Ave
Glendale, WI 53209
Mark Feider
414-228-7425
feider@wi.rr.com

Milwaukee County
Neighborhood House of Milwaukee
2819 W. Richardson Place
Milwaukee, WI 53208
Niki Espy
414-933-6161
nespy@nh-milw.org

Milwaukee County
Urban Ecology Center
1500 E. Park Place
Milwaukee, WI 53211
Tim Vargo
414-964-8505
uec@urbanecologycenter.org

Oconto County
Oconto County 4-H
Oconto County UW-Extension
301 Washington Street
Oconto, WI 54153-1699
Paula Huff, 4-H Youth Development Agent
920-834-6845

Outagamie County
Northeast Wisconsin Alliance
Appleton, WI 54911
Cheryl Root
920-731-1035
croot@newalliance.org

Ozaukee County
Riveredge Nature Center
4458 West Hawthorne Drive
Saukville, WI 53080
Steve Kupcho
414-354-0948
skupcho@wi.rr.com

Portage County
Boston School Forest
5084 Lincoln Avenue
Plover, WI 54467
Karen Dostal
715-345-7383
dctrd@voyager.net

Portage County
Central WI Environmental Station
10186 County Road MM
Amherst Junction, WI 54407
Scott Johnson
715-824-2428
sjohnson@uwsp.edu

Portage County
Wisconsin Center for Environmental Education
800 Reserve Street
Stevens Point, WI 54481
Dennis Yockers
715-346-4943
dyockers@uwsp.edu

Richland County
17494 Merry Hill Road
Richland Center, WI 53581
Barbara Duerksen
bduerksen@mwt.net

Rock County
Welty Environmental Center
8606 County Road H
Beloit, WI 53511
Kelly Washburn
608-361-1377
info@weltycenter.org

Rock County
Evansville Community School District
(Theodore Robinson Intermediate School Library)
420 Fourth St.
Evansville, WI 53536
Phil Kress
608-289-0707
nancphil@charter.net

St. Croix County
St. Croix Valley Bird Club
W11268 840th Ave
River Falls, WI 54022
Jim Beix
715-758-6999
jbeix@dishup.us

Shawano County
Navarino Nature Center
W5646 Lindsten Road
Shiocton, WI 54170
Tim Ewing, Director
715-758-6999
nnc@navarino.org

Sheboygan County
Maywood Environmental Park
3615 Mueller Road
Sheboygan, WI 53083
David Kuckuk
920 459 3906
maywood@ci.sheboygan

Vernon County
Kickapoo Valley Reserve
S3661 St Hwy 131
La Farge, WI 54639
Jonel Kiesau
608-635-2965
Jonel.Kiesau@Wisconsin.gov

Walworth County
Lakeland Audubon Society
812 Geneva Street
Lake Geneva, WI 53147
Brian Kullman
262-248-8884

Washburn County
Hunt Hill Audubon Sanctuary
N2384 Hunt Hill Road
Sarona, WI 54870
Storme Nelson
715-635-6543
info@hunthill.org

Washburn County
NorthStar Community Charter School
Minong, WI
Brian Olson
Brian_olson@northwood.k12.wi.us

Waukesha County
Retzer Nature Center
W284 S1530 Road DT
Waukesha, WI 53188
Larry Kascht
262-896-8007
lkascht@waukeshacounty.gov

Winnebego County
Heckrodt Wetland Reserve
1305 Plank Road
Menasha, WI 54952
Tracey Koening
920-720-9349
heckrodtwetland.tk@tds.net

Winnebego County
Winnebago Audubon Society
4974 Lansing High Pt
Oshkosh, WI 54904
Janet Wissink
920-589-2602
wiss@centurytel.net

Wood County
1420 23rd St.N, Suite G
Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Martha Kronholm
715-424 4920
Martha.Kronholm@wrps.org